Boys Nation candidates vie for unique opportunity

By Alex Veliz Staters Union Every year at state, there are two representatives that are voted upon to represent the state of Kansas at Boys’ Nation. Each county selects one person to give a speech in front the other staters to gain the honor of going to Washington D.C. The ten counties representatives are as follows:

  • Marshall – Emilio Tovilla
  • Bradley – Taylor Cook
  • Patton – Justin Hieber
  • MacArthur – Rese Wynn
  • Powell – Alex Trobough
  • Seitz – Trey Schmidt
  • Kennedy – Hudson Parris
  • Perish – Thomas Williams
  • Eisenhower – Premier Jones
  • King – Keaton Petite
The  votes were based on the speeches, but there was also another question asked to each representative entailing the description of the two biggest problems tIMG_3376hat are facing Kansas. Many staters based their process of nomination of these representatives on the answer of important questions about their goals and political views. “I nominated our representative because he was a good guy and he is really smart, he knows a lot about what is going on in Kansas Legislature,” Nick Redwine from Powell County. “I think the deciding factor is going to be who speaks the best on the stage and also if they know what is going on in Kansas.” It should be interesting to see who gets the unique opportunity of representing the Boys State of Kansas on the national level.  ]]>