Candidates Announced for Kansas Boys State General Election Races

June 6, 2017 — Approximately 440 young men from across the State of Kansas, all of whom will enter their senior year of high school this fall, are participating in the 2017 session of the American Legion Boys State of Kansas Leadership Academy. The event, in its 80th year, started Sunday (June 4) and concludes Friday, June 9, at Kansas State University in Manhattan. The following delegates to the ALBSKLA were elected earlier today during party caucuses as the candidates for state offices. They will face-off in debates this evening at 7:15 p.m. in McCain Auditorium with the general election to immediately follow. The general election winners will be announced Wednesday (June 7) morning at 8:30 a.m. in the Boys State of Kansas Assembly Area (Marlatt Hall parking lot [northeast of building on Claflin Road]). NOTE – Members of the media and the public are invited to attend the debate and the announcement of the winners.   (Name, City of Residence; High School – all cities/high schools in Kansas, unless noted) GOVERNOR

  • Samuel Reinig, Overland Park, Blue Valley North High School, (Federalist Party – considered to be the more conservative party)
  • Alex Thill, Overland Park, Blue Valley Northwest High School (Nationalist Party – considered to be the more liberal party)
NOTE: The governor and lieutenant governor run on the same ticket. LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR
  • Max Harman, McPherson, Inman High School (Federalist Party)
  • Micah Self, Fort Scott, Fort Scott High School (Nationalist Party)
  • William Tampke, Leawood, Rockhurst High School, Kansas City, Mo. (Federalist Party)
  • Denny Rice, Prairie Village, Shawnee Mission East High School (Nationalist Party)
  • Conor Casey, Leavenworth, Leavenworth High School (Federalist Party)
  • Ted Bordeau, Overland Park, Blue Valley North High School (Nationalist Party)
  • Matthew Owens, Lenexa, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School (Federalist Party)
  • Choong Hyun Son, Hutchinson, Trinity Catholic High School (Nationalist Party)
  • Trey Peat III, Topeka, Washburn Rural High School (Federalist Party)
  • Nolen Wright, Overland Park, Kansas City Christian High School (Nationalist Party)